Les Miles, the former LSU head coach

The Les Miles era in Baton Rouge has reportedly come to an end. A day after LSU fell to 2-2 with an 18-13 loss at Auburn, the Baton Rouge Advocate first reported that Miles has been fired as head coach. The news has since been confirmed by several other outlets.

The EHS defense swarms in for a for tackle.

LEROY - The North Vermilion defense could not stop Erath tailback Elijah Mitchell in Erath’s 34-0 district victory over the Patriots. But the bigger story of the night was the Bobcats’ defense. While Mitchell got his yards, 259 yards and three touchdowns, it was the defense that may be the unsung heroes.
LAFAYETTE – The Acadiana Planning Commission, One Acadiana, and LEDA will host a regional meeting of the Governor’s Task Force on Transportation Infrastructure Investment in Lafayette.

Les Miles, the former LSU head coach

The EHS defense swarms in for a for tackle.

Abbeville sees worst flooding in nearly 80 years

Downtown Abbeville had at least a foot of water making it difficult to get around Magdalen Square. The old Get building (above) had water in it for the first time since 1940s.

Waters continued to recede Monday in Abbeville, but the damage from the worst flooding to hit the city in nearly 80 years has been done.
How much damage remains to be seen.

Erath deals with another flood

Many homes in Erath were flooded because of rain and high water. The bypass was underwater.

An important part of Erath’s recent history is the town’s resilience in recovering from Hurricane Rita.
The people of Erath know how to plan for one of the most powerful forces of nature. Except this wasn’t a hurricane. The effects of record rainfall from this past weekend remained through Monday afternoon.

Maurice has rare flood

The WOW Hall in Maurice surrounded by water this past weekend.

Sunshine on Monday played a sharp contrast to a weekend that brought around 20 inches of rain to the Maurice area.
Monday did allow residents of the Village of Maurice to begin an unprecedented recovery process.

Louisiana residents urged to register with FEMA

An aerial view from a drone of the Vermilion River, downtown bridge and the west side of the river in Abbeville. This photo was taken on Saturday.
Drone Photos taken by Corey Lege

Louisiana disaster survivors are urged to register for federal disaster assistance with FEMA.
Individuals and business owners in the designated parishes who had severe storm or flood damage may register for assistance the following ways:
Online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov
By calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362)

Open and closed roads in Vermilion Parish

The Department of Transportation and Development has announced the following REVISED road closures due to flooding in Vermilion Parish. The roads will be reopened as soon as conditions improve.

Herald delivery may be late because of flooding

ATTENTION SUBSCRIBERS: Due to the excessive flooding, our drivers who pick up the Herald from the printers have not been able to find any roads that were not flooded.

Kaplan flooding

It is reported that Kaplan Elementary has at least eight inches of water in school.

Update on Meridional's Sunday edition

We are sorry to inform our customers that the Abbeville Meridional's Sunday edition cannot be printed today due to roads still being flooded and employees cannot reach the building.



Channing Spears rushed for 72 yards for Abbeville.

Abbeville High interim head football coach Kevin Kern is still scratching his head trying to figure out what is wrong with the Wildcats.


The winners in the Miss (17-23 year old) Division were (left to right) Brooke Comeaux, 3rd Runner Up; Gabrielle Guilbeau, 4th Runner Up; Ashlee Guilbeau, 2015 LA Cattle Festival Queen; Victoria Roussel, 2016 LA Cattle Festival Queen and Photogenic; Kali Dore, 1st Runner Up; Emily Husband, 2nd Runner Up and Shelby Santaigo, Miss Congenialty.


The winners in the Teen (14-16 Year old) Division were Courtlyn Johnson, 2nd Runner Up; Maci Bergeron, 1st Runner Up and Photogenic; Payton Broussard, 2016 LA Teen Cattle Festival Queenand Cassie Aloisio-2015 LA Teen Cattle Festival Queen.

The Vermilion Today

P.O. Box 400
Abbeville, LA 70511
Phone: 337-893-4223
Fax: 337-898-9022

Follow Us